Secret Pumpkin Whoopie Pies….shhh


I always look forward to this time of year; an in between time. In between the hustle and bustle of the holiday season, and the jammed packed schedule of the fleeting summer months. A time to collect my bearings, look at where I’ve been and where I am heading, start holiday to do lists, take down and launder summer curtains, pillows, and porch furniture cushions…hang the heavier, cozier, cool weather drapes, toss the comfie blankets, and pillows on the sofas. Time to stack fire wood for the kitchen wood stove, and the time for my families favorite: PUMPKIN WHOOPIE PIES! I have shared this recipe with very few folks over the years..they are fabulous and the recipe was my secret; after several friends asked for the recipe, and neighbors declared,”It’s almost whoopie pie season isn’t it?”, I suppose it is time to share this favorite recipe with you. Guard it well. I hope that you enjoy them as much as we do.

Secret recipe for Pumpkin Whoopie pies

Cookies
pre-heat oven to 350
2 cups brown sugar (tightly packed)
1 cups vegetable oil
1 1/2 cups pumpkin, cooked and mashed ( canned will do if in a pinch)
2 eggs
3 cups flour
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. vanilla (real vanilla)
1 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ginger
1/2 tsp. ground cloves

Cream sugar and oil.
Add remaining ingredients, mix well.
Drop by heaping tsp. onto parchment lined cookie sheet ( I use a cookie scoop, to obtain a uniform size)
Bake for aprx. 10 minutes ~ be careful not to over bake, you want them moist and cakey ( is that a word?)

Let cookies cool.

Filling

2 egg whites
4 tbsp milk
2 tsp vanilla ( the good stuff)
3 cups of confectioners sugar ( use in 1 cup increments)
(1 1/2 cups shortening)

Mix together the egg whites, milk, vanilla, and 1 cup of the confectioners sugar.
Then add 1 cup of confectioners sugar and and 1 1/2 cup shortening..mix well
Then add last cup of confectioners sugar

Make sandwiches and enjoy! Remember, these are secret…shhh.

early morning light filtering through the snowy trees

early morning light

misty morning chill

barn roof tops and snowy glitter

frosty pumpkins

nature's sparkle

silly tree...every other one has lost their leaves...

rosey

7 thoughts on “Secret Pumpkin Whoopie Pies….shhh

  1. Thank you for the recipe. It sounds delicious. (Love the taste and smell of pumpkin.) The snow looks beautiful, but I can’t say I envy you. I lived too long in the north. We get our fair share of snow in December and January, Just enough to call it a true winter. Have a delightful day!

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !