Away


I love the sea, I love a rural landscape. I love quaint village charm.

Welcomes

Welcomes

Martha’s Vineyard is sprinkled lavishly with the irresistable allure of its seafaring past, interwoven with farmsteads, artists, and unpretentious beauty.

pickets and roses

pickets and roses

This island is not trying to be anything more than it is; leaving aside the germane need tourists may have for t-shirts, arcades, and the stipulation to be regaled, this, this island is honest.

DSC_7914

The roads (other than the main highways) are  dirt, rutted, and furrowed.

tidal

tidal

The fishermen have this north-east island life hardships etched into their face, divulging her secret struggles, with the weather, with time, and changing earth.

Vinyard Haven Harbor

Vinyard Haven Harbor

Verdant farms dot the mid-island landscape. Farmer stands, and markets offer a seasonal supply of freshness. Sustainability and a natural approach to life and farming are central.

Lake Tashmoo

Lake Tashmoo

Days are slow, they are meant to be. Savor the fresh salty air, the warm ocean breeze. Take a moment, simply feel the suns gentle rays.

I think they're done.

I think they’re done.

Stand on her cliffs and wonder.

Gay Head Cliffs

Gay Head Cliffs

Imagine winter’s lonely nights as light keeper.

Edgartown Light

Edgartown Light

Be stirred by the wonder of spring’s arrival.

Hydrangea

Hydrangea

Contemplate memories of childhood, of sandcastles, starfish, and shells.

Oak Bluffs

Oak Bluffs

It is a place bursting with sustenance for the soul.

J & J

J & J

But, home,well home is where I thrive, the hills, the green fields, pastoral scenes, the barns, and the people.

All it takes to appreciate what you have is to be without it for awhile.

Hope you are well,

Jess

2 thoughts on “Away

  1. You and your family certainly added to the beauty. Gorgeous photographs, I felt like I was right there. I often “hear” music when I look at art. (I know, maybe I’m weird! But I like it!) When I looked at the picture of your daughter and her beau, Henry Mancini – Theme from A Summer Place, is what I was hearing! Each of those photographs need to be exhibited someplace–truly awesome!! thank you so much for sharing them with us!

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

