3 of my favorite things…one of them is a herd.


I was reading http://thesimplecountrylife.com where she was talking about her favorite things and the beautiful photos of them; so, I got to thinking…
What are my favorite things and can I choose just three? hmmm…probably not!

Let’s see…my very most favorite thing is my collection of photo albums…some from when my ancestors were babies, then children, soldiers in the civil war and others, first time parents, then Grand parents, only 2 photos of me as a child)…my children and their friends, and activities through out their lives. I don’t know how they could ever be replaced. I should really have them copied and saved on my hard drive.

Then probably an old ( very old) Bible, this is from the 1600’s with baptisms, marriages, children born, illnesses and deaths all recorded. The first recording, Deaem John Birdseye, born in Reading,Berkshire, England in 1616. Funny thing about this..there are 10 Katherine Jennette’s …Birdseye, Ledger, Burr, and McHale (my Gramma)…them my Mother was the last. I could read the entries for hours, there are notes written on “promises of material goods ~ written in the late 1700’s…and an insurance company letter head from the 1800’s. From what I can discern, they came to Connecticut in the late 1600..very Early settlers. Thaddeus Burr, was Aaron Burr’s Uncle, we won’t go into his sorted past.

My 3rd~ish most favorite thing is my collection of animals, 14 llamas ( not to be confused with alpacas) 2 dogs, Riley cat, and a flock of 10 birds ( 4 ducks, 6 chickens).

And finally, tea… can’t live with out it. Earl Grey please, and often. It soothes my soul, smooths out bumps in the road, warmed my children’s rumbly tumblies , they often had a cup of tea after school and it is their go to beverage of choice to this day. (Well, Justin might be an exception).

My favorite movie, just in case you were wondering..Sound of Music. I saw it 3 times at the Theater in Manchester, NH in early 1966 I think.

A Few of my Favorite Things
Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things

Cream colored ponies and crisp apple streudels
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings
These are a few of my favorite things

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes
Silver white winters that melt into springs
These are a few of my favorite things

When the dog bites
When the bee stings
When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad

Through the years...

Gramma ( Katherine Jennette Burr - McHale) and her childhood dog Trixie

Kindergarten Picture..oh boy, Gramma and I shared a love of Robert Frost and Auburn hair.

Burr Family Bible

A hand written note remnant

The first page...with repairs

one of the entries...

Riley cat

Lexington..sweetest girl ever...and biggest bed hog


She now weighs in at 100+ lbs. Still just as cute.

Finn, need I say more.

Llamas…a few.

Little Andy with Jenn

Malokai such a love.

Phantom of the opera...

Andrew joining the girls for lunch.

one of my favorite photos.

and other farm critters.

2 of the ducks...

A silkie chicken, how's that for a hair style?

Sophie, a Rhode Island Red.

I call him Mr. Nasty...this could be an entire blog. Let's just say he makes egg gathering an adventure.

Andrew, my sweet, sweet little neighbor. Oh, and Claire.

What are your top 3 favorite things?

PS, I am still on the search for my husband’s Perfect gift; heading to Upland Outfitters, perhaps some sheepskin seat covers? To keep his toushy nice and warm…toasty buns!

Be Well,
Jess