Walking


Walking and conversation seem to go hand in hand. Inspired conversation, thoughts from deep within, the longer the walk the deeper the conversation.

DSC_5112

I think I could write an interesting memoir of outstanding walks I have taken with others, during which togetherness was not only shared but settled tenderly into the landscape of memory.

DSC_5091

When I was a child, my sisters and I used to walk, from the busstops to home, through parks, across fields and up and down hills.

DSC_5086

We talked of many things, some meaningful (to very young children) and some completely outrageous, and quite a few very tall stories emerged on those walks.

DSC_5104

Whatever the content of the talking, those walks and those conversations remain important memories for me of my attachment to my family, and to nature.

DSC_5085

We used to stop along the way to look for Lady Slippers, a protected native orchid. We found a few. We found Poison Ivy more often.

DSC_5090

The content of these walks have become blurred, now they’re more a painting in my memory. There, As a whole, no particular parts.  Cherished.

DSC_5056

“As a single footstep will not make a path on the earth, so a single thought will not make a pathway in the mind. To make a deep physical path, we walk again and again. To make a deep mental path, we must think over and over the kind of thoughts we wish to dominate our lives.”
– Henry David Thoreau

Get out there, it’s good medicine.

I am the walkingist girl around, we (my husband or daughter and I) try to put in 6 miles a day, though we don’t always achieve this; weather has her own say in things.

Be well,

Jess

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

