Walkin’ Down a Country Road…


As we so often do; after a long day of chores and yard work, my husband and I go for a drive or a walk (sometimes both). Yesterday we drove to a nearby town, stopped the car on an old dirt road and just meandered on down ~

A rural, pastoral view of the Cambridge Hills

There is such beauty to be found here,so much history and remnants of times past. Work for the future, as we pass signs depicting the “RIGHT TO FARM”.

Barns and sheds some being used for their intended purposes, some now storage or sitting unused and in a state disrepair…loved and lost.

It’s all a-blur…:)

On a country road
I guess my feet know where they want me to go….James Taylor.

Flowers along the way..

Gold, pure Gold.

I never fail to be impressed by the beauty of flowers..

Where flowers bloom so does hope.

In friendship’s fragrant garden,
There are flowers of every hue.
Each with its own fair beauty
And its gift of joy for you.
Friendship’s Garden

Earth laughs in flowers -Emerson

I will be the gladdest thing
Under the sun!
I will touch a hundred flowers
And not pick one.
Edna St. Vincent Millay, “Afternoon on a Hill”

Flowers… are a proud assertion that a ray of beauty out-values all the utilities of the world.
Ralph Waldo Emerson, 1844 Oh, for the love of Emerson ❀

Flowers seem intended for the solace of ordinary humanity.
John Ruskin

Flowers are the sweetest things God ever made, and forgot to put a soul into.
Henry Beecher, Life Thoughts, 1858

Be Well, take a walk…:)
Jess

13 thoughts on “Walkin’ Down a Country Road…

  1. You are right, you do live in a beautiful part of the world, those old farm buildings are so enchanting and heart breaking all at once.. and your flowers.. a lovely post, thank you jess.. c

    Like

  2. Lovely flowers, Jess! And such a beautiful, quaint, country road. Isn’t it nice to slow down and enjoy dirt roads every once in a while? Looks like it took you on a special summertime journey.

    Like

  3. Hi! What would I give to see what you see πŸ™‚ I live in the city so we don’t see fields and meadows. I wish I did! Have you gone to Cambridge Hills? Where is this beautiful place? I want to go πŸ™‚

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

