You need a strong foundation, and back, and arms, and a hammer.


The important thing is that you have a strong foundation…

I have always wanted a Arbor covered with sweet juicy grapes in my garden.
This past weekend we made it happen. Of course us being us; we used only up-cycled materials. The posts we purchased for a dollar a piece from a sheep farmer nearby, the bolts and such were salvaged from earlier dismantling projects, the top braces were with the fencing we picked up for a song… I love these types of projects; not very time consuming, nearly instant gratification, and every one likes to get involved. Well, except for Lexi, as you will see from the photos.

I planted Concord, and Niagra ( a white grape). Niagra grapes were created by cross breeding Concord grapes with a white grape the Cassidy variety; in the 1800’s. A sweet -tart, think Welch’s grape juice taste…mmmm mmmm I can hardly wait.

Concord grapes remind me of grapes picked as a child to be made into grape jelly.
The Concord grape is a robust and aromatic grape whose ancestors were wild native species found growing in the rugged New Hampshire soil. Being born in NH, something these grapes and I have in common. (just thought you’d wanna know)
Developed on a farm outside Concord,NH…down the road from the Emerson, Thoreau, Hawthorne and Alcott homesteads, can you ask for better company?
Early ripening, to escape the killing northern frosts, but with a rich, full-bodied flavor, the hardy Concord grape thrives where European cuttings had failed to survive. I am so happy they did!
Experts found that the antioxidants present in the skin and juice of the Concord grapes have brain boosting powers that helps in improving memory. Perhaps, if I eat enough of them I will remember what I am doing from one room to the next. Did you ever have one of “those” moments; you walk upstairs, or into the kitchen to retrieve something., then have absolutely no idea why you went there!? Grapes, I will eat many, many grapes.


Concord grapes…:)


NY Niagra Grapes…hopefully my Arbor will resemble this!

I tried to capture the steps we took in creating our Arbor…certainly their are many shapes and sizes of structures to be considered if you are to ever plant grapes. I wanted an arbor that would act as an entrance to the garden; i think it will do nicely.


The Arbor.


Daisy, taking in all of the happenings from a distance; she is healing quite nicely form her traumatic encounter with a predator…you can read about that here: https://awinsomejourney.wordpress.com/2012/05/03/tragedy-and-triumph/ ( hope I linked that correctly)


Does Andrew measure up? You betcha.


William, our neighbor giving my husband a hand…


Lexi calls it quits!

After completing the arbor,late on an 85 degree Sunday afternoon, my tireless husband turned to me and asked, “Are you ready to shear a few llamas?”
Me, “nope”.
I am ready for a nice glass of wine. 😉

Be well,
Jess

12 thoughts on “You need a strong foundation, and back, and arms, and a hammer.

  1. Well what a way to earn a nice glass of wine, I am in love with your arbor, we have telegraph poles waiting for just such a project! The grapes will look fantastic up there.. c

    Like

  2. Love it! I walk my a garden everyday, sometime twice. I walk, pick and eat fruit, pick and toss bugs, walk some more, squat and listen. How nice it would to have an arbor loaded with grapes to lure me out to my paradise! Can’t wait to see yours in a few months.

    Like

    • And no, you didn’t link it correctly (I copy and pasted into my browser).

      If you want to link it, first type what you want to say, say “Tragedy and Triumph” (within your post-writing window), select it, click the “Insert/Edit Link,” and then paste your URL address in the box of that window. That will make your site Tragedy and Triumph clickable.

      Like

    • It was fun, but, I was more than ready for a rest…especially since I decided I should finish planting the rest of the garden as well. Relaxing with a nice wine, cheese and slices of freshly baked ham was our reward!

      Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

