Is there life after facebook?


ot,oh…I think facebook and I just broke up. You see we haven’t been seeing eye to eye lately, it seems to have become a venue for negativity and the gratuitous propulsion of opinion, right or wrong. I was going to post the photo and “blurb” that set this separation into motion. But, I feel it too graphic for my taste, so I won’t..let’s just leave it at this…I do not care to read in graphic detail how abortions are performed nor do I think Obama is the devil enabling such things… I don’t watch mainstream television for the same reasons…the carefully laundered news,graphic images, gratuitous violence and sex, I can do with out it, thank you very much. There is so much good in this world, why must we inundate our lives with such non-stop ugliness?

We were getting along fine for awhile; really, we were. I enjoyed viewing and posting updates, sharing photos and chatting with “friends”. I am not sure, when I was sucked in…when did I allow this virtual reality to gobble up so much of my time? So much time…I believe, if Facebook ever shuts down. You’ll see people roaming the streets shoving pictures in others faces screaming “Do you like this!?!?!…DO YOU!?!?!”

Little Andy with Breezy

Besides, I am capable of staying in touch with those I care about on my own with out, FB. I can. Really. I will have more time to accomplish those things high om my life’s list of priorities. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t think Facebook is evil and bad. It is just not for me. Just another decision to stay focused on the beauty and good in the world, and not be overwhelmed by negativity. I love the Web as a networking and communication tool…perhaps, I am old fashioned, but, prefer to meet friends in the world,our world..Sure, it takes more time and isn’t nearly as efficient. It’s not very meaningful, shallow even.

Do you think, you want to offer me some fiber...huh, do ya?

This begs the question,how is blogging any different? Now blogging, seems different somehow, I can take inspiration and knowledge from others as well, gift it. If I seek to learn something new, I find a blogger who knows all about it, and loves to share a common interest. That’s one of the things I love about blogging, and there are many others. What about you? What’s the attraction to blogging for you?

I feel like I am entering re-hab; can I go cold turkey? Or should I wean myself off? I will still keep the farm page up for a bit, I suppose. (guess that answers the wean myself off question)

Maeve with Andy shortly after his birth

“”I wonder what Piglet is doing,” thought Pooh.
“I wish I were there to be doing it, too.”
– Winnie the Pooh

Be Well,
Jess

25 thoughts on “Is there life after facebook?

  1. Hi – I enjoyed reading your blog, there is an honesty about it that I like. I agree with you about FB, I set up an account when it started and I had accumulated lots of ‘friends’ I never knew. I closed it down permanently less than a week later – never looked back really. I don’t see the attraction.

    Like

  2. I have been contemplating for weeks leaving FB….I gave up my cell phone for a regular land line when I noticed everybody around me were looking down and texting…not paying attention to what was happening all around them.

    Now I must choose to kick FB to the curb also.

    I wonder if I will miss FB?

    Like

  3. I feel your pain! I had to laugh at the image of a Facebook-less world with strangers running around on the streets holding up pictures screaming “Do you like this?!!!” Ha! That is a very funny visual!!! It is honestly the truth, we’re just doing it in a Facebook world that tries to assure us it’s ok to be doing that! p.s — love the new baby Andy!

    Like

  4. I also completely shut down/deleted my account a couple of months ago & lived Facebook free for awhile. It was nice, and I completely lost the attraction and the weaning period was well worth it. I have returned though because communication is so much easier to maintain (non-political & non-dogmatic) with true friends and out of town family. I was able to prove a point though that real friends will communicate Facebook or not as my friends and family so graciously did with me. I could really care less if I have a ‘Wall’ or not, and I was able to gracefully ‘lose’ all the additional friends I wouldn’t see or hear from otherwise.

    In the meantime, I started a blog. 🙂 For me, the difference in blogging is that I use it to maintain, encourage & share hobbies, ideas, my (real) life and pastimes.

    Like

  5. Loved the line about shoving photos in people’s faces. I think we used to do that with photos – remember photo albums out on the coffee table for everyone to see or framed photos all over the walls. My husband and I moved (downsized) last August (and all of our albums and photos are in storage). Because of the digital media trend, we have no photos of our family in our new place. It’s really weird; now the photo wall is virtual.

    I loved this whole post. I have been grappling with the same things lately (too much time online; too much negativity on FB). I have scaled back significantly and I “unsubscribed” to the one person who posted 10 to 20 negative things on my FB daily. It’s amazing how “light filled” my wall is now.

    I have tried to steer clear of politics on my blog (although I broke my own rule with my latest post). My goal is to connect with people from all walks of life from around the world with the hopes of finding common ground.

    Like

    • I know, the world, our world, changed so fast, we hardly had time to notice…gosh, I remember having a party line; can you imagine what kids today would think about that?!
      I try to avoid as much negativity as possible..although, it is not always possible.

      Happy connecting 🙂
      Jess

      Like

  6. Is funny, I hardly even go on face book! I can’t imagine having 300 friends! Like I have seen so many people have and even more. I find it very fake and a waste of my time. I always clean house with face book, I had like 60 friends and I said, OK I don’t even talk to these people, we have nothing in common any longer, time to clean up, I ended up with like 30, I think. Now I have to re- clean again(lol). Like you said is so much negativity and drama…. Thank God, that I’m not into POLITICS!!! Nor I care about it. Great post!!!

    Like

  7. Really great post. I’m right there with you. I’ve been contemplating what the difference is too, between blogging and FB and for me it is the community. Bloggers are nice. FBers, not always. And if a troll shows up on your blog you just delete them. FB is supposedly “friends” and it gets all complicated…so I deactivated for awhile and am now back for light and limited use, mostly to share my blog. 🙂 Your photos are lovely- I love llamas.

    Like

    • Thank you! I too share my blog on FB…I also have a farm page, which is a useful marketing tool. I will continue with that for now. I should have titled this post “It’s Complicated” heehee.

      You love llamas! They are so very sweet. Thank you for visiting my blog.

      Jess

      Like

  8. hear hear… can I push Like twenty times?, i am terrible because i forget about FB so often and this is where my children leave me messages, well, as well as email and phones you know what i mean.. It is not hard to give up! If it is bringing you down drop kick it straight back out beautiful girl! anyway. i think this is a good choice for you, you are a loving person and sunny person, don’t let anything diminish that! I am still in love with your animals, i am never tired of seeing pictures of them.. c

    Like

    • Thanks C. I will probably keep my farm page up. I do enjoy seeing pictures of my family in Canada, and other places on FB; so this will be hard to give up…I ma sure they will e-mail me photos :).

      I will keep the llama love flowing..heehee.
      Jess

      Like

  9. You eloquently shared my own thoughts. Face book, no thank you. I do not have the time or interest in this medium. But blogging and pinterest…love them. These creative outlets empower me to live a more productive, beautiful life 😉

    Like

  10. I laughed with your FB comment: …if Facebook ever shuts down. You’ll see people roaming the streets shoving pictures in others faces screaming “Do you like this!?!?!…DO YOU!?!?!”. All they would need are little “Like” buttons hanging around their necks. But it might be harder to unlike afterwards. I use FB for photo sharing and drop friends when I start to dislike their posts. Which might be why I don’t have a lot of friends 😦

    But I love to blog and don’t really care if anyone else reads me because it is more of a brain dump for me to just be me. Thanks for the laugh this morning. I love me a good laugh.

    Like

    • It’s a funny society FB has created, no? I started my blog as a farm diary of sorts, with no preconceived notion anyone would be interested in reading such stuff. It has been fun.
      Someone should come up with a t-shirt with a FB “like” logo on the back…:)

      Thanks for visiting my blog.
      Jess

      Like

  11. I haven’t read all of your comments yet, but love, love, LOVE!! I ditched Facebook and then started my blog. I haven’t missed it, haven’t looked back. But I’m still active (what exactly IS the point of deactivation anyway?). Read my story when you have time, or maybe you have and it was inspiration for you. It was my very first post.

    I also don’t watch TV, have a smart phone, or otherwise do anything that anyone else does. I’m a little bit of a rebel that way. Woo hoo!!

    Like

      • I even unfriended my mom, best friend, and husband. That’s how much I like Facebook. There are other better ways to share photos and life. Learn how and then swat that vampire off your neck. You’re meant to live!

        Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

