I write like I talk…


It is raining here while I am sharing my thoughts about about rain. I love rain. Its so refreshing..I love how the animals seem to look out into it from their cozy and dry hay beds; I love listening to it especially at night while I’m all warm and cosy in my bed…

This beautiful rainy night brings back so many thoughts and emotions. Of my childhood, of my children, of my siblings. Rain is grace.

summer rain drops…tears of joy are my sunbeams….
It is a proven fact, no really, if you go camping with young children it will rain, it will pour, the sky will crackle and the air will rumble. There will then be puddles, muddy, muddy puddles. Sopping wet sneakers and leaky tents. There will be 20 mile road trips to the nearest laundromat to dry sleeping bags, sneakers, jeans, and t-shirts; while the little ones sit wrapped in the only dry bath towels eating Happy Meals and half frozen Popsicles. There will be cozy story time, read by lantern while snuggled into our newly laundered sleeping bags. The smell of freshly scrubbed toddlers, zipped into their footy pajamas, tired from the lakeside air and the days activity.

Sitting on the front porches of childhood; still and contemplative as the rains came down. Sometimes it was calmer outside in the damp air, it was a refuge, a soggy blanket of solace. There was peace to be found out there alone in the dark, rain…singing it’s comforting lullaby; leaving the messy mud inside. I loved walking in the rain, no one knew I was crying. Healing rain. My brothers, sisters and I walked in the rain, with sacred tears, together we were messengers of overwhelming strength…and unspeakable love. Still.

Some people walk in the rain, others just get wet.
Roger Miller

And when it rains on your parade, look up rather than down. Without the rain, there would be no rainbow.
Gilbert K. Chesterton

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


“Anyone who says sunshine brings happiness has never danced in the rain”

9 thoughts on “I write like I talk…

  1. Pingback: A Refreshing Rain « Haiku 365

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

