While finding pleasure in creating…a revelation.


When I first decided to blog; I found it to be a chasm of creative exploration. I wasn’t sure who, or if, indeed, anyone would visit my site. I knew I had much to share. I spent countless hours surfing from one blog to the next, savoring the humor, the information, the human experience. So much inspiration, so much creativity and beauty. Where would I fit in…did I have a purpose? A niche? Did I need one? Perhaps it could be a venue toward a budding photography business, a home staging, furniture and vintage re purposing, or my love for all things fiber and animal related. As I wrote, it became what it was; something a bit different; at times focus was on family, photographs, loss, love, weddings, llamas….our lives on this little cottage farm. I do love to share what’s happening around me, the simple beauty of a country road. The singular beauty of a rose bud. A brand new cria with his mom. A family wedding. Life.

Having this outlet, this blog, I have discovered a thing or two about myself. I’ve had a revelation! I am who I am meant to be. At nearly 50, I was still struggling with the same question I was tussling with at 20: “What do I want to be when I grow up”?
I am me..a free spirit, a gypsy of sorts, a photographer, an artist, a farmer, a gardener, a reluctant paralegal, a developer, an organizer, a care giver, a MOM…Can I sit for 8-10 hours in an office doing the same thing day in- day out? Probably not. Perhaps, some people should do a little of this and a little of that. Maybe, there isn’t one particular thing, I am supposed to do…but rather; a variety of things. When I think of it this way, it seems kind of exciting, I may not know what life has in store for me. But,I think now, I can relax and enjoy the ride. Enjoy being a bit of a dreamer, follow the paths, with all the twists and turns that it could follow. Simply be myself, keep honest, and blog with my own style…be a keeper of memories, creative endeavors, farm life, and special moments. There is beauty every where I look; it fills me with a gentle purpose and an appreciation of all of the treasured moments at my cottage farm. This little blog of mine became a place full of endless exploration with people who share similar interests.

I have spent some time perusing the new seed catalogs that have arrived, which inspired me to share some spring-y photos with you. Enjoy.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Be well,
Jessica

12 thoughts on “While finding pleasure in creating…a revelation.

  1. the garden catalogs are arriving for you also, then! isn’t it fun to prepare for it all? a great post, and i understand how working a desk job isn’t for you. We are blessed to do what suits us.

    ps… i still have a hard time placing you at fifty… not that it matters, really, but in my head, you are in your thirties.

    Like

  2. This was so nice to read this morning. I have found that a blog helps me sort of gather all my interests and passions in life in one place. I don’t feel like such a ping pong ball. So I relate to the feeling that blogging centers me and I have so much fun doing it – the writing and the connecting with other bloggers and the photography – that it’s almost a guilty pleasure. but that’s one more thing I’ve learned with age – guilt for something selfish? Uhm – no more. Always enjoy visiting you here.

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

