A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 17


November 17, 2011

I am grateful for my what?? Yep, my spinning wheel. I’m thankful for my creativity, I’m thankful my abundant llama fiber stash, and I’m thankful for the view from my kitchen window of my llama babies.

Spinning has taught me patience, perseverance, and above all..it makes me aware;I thrive on challenge. Stick-tu-it-iveness, my motto…

After purchasing a book called “Harvesting Color” by Katie Mendelson; I decided to add to my already too large garden ( wait, can a garden be too large, I think not)! I have always loved the colors exploding from zinnia’s…they it turns out are great for dyeing fiber… a beautiful deep golden color. And poke berries, they are plentiful here along the edge of our farm; perfect for dyeing fiber a gorgeously deep magenta. golden rod yields a bright sunny yellow…plentiful in our area much to allergy sufferers dismay. How about elderberry for a dusky lavender…pansies, violets, cosmos, and coreopsis..oh my…

As I mentioned in an earlier “grateful” blog…this activity also brings like- minded people into my life…People that are making a difference. People that are living joyfully, peacefully, creatively. People that are helping others go after their dreams, encouraging at every step. If I had a question or particular problem with my endeavor ~ their would be countless folks there; ready to help with answers, support and solutions. People that are living their dreams. People that love big & are loved big.

Natural fiber,and the animals that bring it to us connects people with other people & with opportunities. It connects people to activities ,to an opus if you will…to explore….to challenge ourselves. It connects people to their passions…and creative souls.

Andy's fiber is ...lushy

The trade...KatDoll, "You want what?"

Andy, "They want what?"

"OK, we can trade" "Ok, Howie"???

"I'll take your boot in exchange for some fiber"...fair?

"Uhm, could you hold still"! "If I can just..."

Andy, " Kat Doll?...KAT DOLL?...."

loverly fiberliciousness...

hmm, wonder what they think?

Do you think, you want to offer me some fiber...huh, do ya?

cardin - o - the fiber

fiber, fiber, fiber....

my wheel....empty and waiting...

poke berry, dyed yarn...( from Harvesting Color)

Coreopsis steeping in the sun...(Harvesting Color)

lusciousness.... llama fiber...

LOVE, love, love...

Listen to the Mustn’ts

Listen to the MUSTN’TS, child,

Listen to the DONT’S.

Listen to the SHOULDN’TS

The IMPOSSIBLES, the WONT’S

Listen to the NEVER HAVES

Then listen close to me-
Anything can happen, child,

ANYTHING can be.

Be well,
Jessica

5 thoughts on “A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 17

  1. You are living a life that I dreamed about years ago except my dream had sheep. Beautiful yarn and the colors! I have zinnias and coreopsis in my garden that I enjoy for the season. You enjoy these colors forever in yarn. I love your creative spirit and can dream vicariously through your blogs.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Llamas fiber | Kilombas

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

