A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 14


November 14,2011

Pooh Bear

I know it may seem a bit odd to be grateful for a fictional honey stuffed bear; but I am.

The writings of A.A. Milne brought countless hours of snuggles, comfort, and, at times eased the grief of a troubled day for any one of my children. He was always a favorite bedtime read. I still have a copy of now we are six from my childhood; I am certain it will be read to my grandchildren as often (when I have some). Reading any Pooh story, is like comfort food for my soul. I will always cherish times spent snuggled on the side of my child’s bed reading as they wriggled down into their covers, all freshly bathed and smelling delightfully sweet from the Mr. Bubbles bubble bath. My children were incredibly active, so the quiet times, were bliss. As the holiday season approaches, I am always thinking of ideas for their “Stockings”…I think I will add a fresh copy of their favorite A.A. Milne book this year. Besides being a very lovable bear adored by children, Pooh’s clear-eyed wisdom may appeal to the hearts of my adult children. Maybe, a J.Herriot book as well…another favorite (Warm and Joyful Tales by the Author of All Creatures Great and Small)…

When I was One,
I had just begun.
When I was Two,
I was nearly new.
When I was Three
I was hardly me.
When I was Four,
I was not much more.
When I was Five,
I was just alive.
But now I am Six,
I’m as clever as clever,
So I think I’ll be six now for ever and ever.
The End

Jenn and Juli snuggling at Gramma's after a swim...

Justin, Julianne..with Jennifer ~ brandy new.

My little hula girl...19 years ago. My Hula Girl…19 years ago.

I am not certain, but I am fairly sure, they were warm enough....

Jenn ~ 3rd grade

My how they’ve changed…selecting these pictures made me realize…I need to digitize a LOT more pictures.folks in general

As with most children and folks in general…patience is key: If the person you are talking to doesn’t appear to be listening, be patient. It may simply be that he has a small piece of fluff in his ear.
— Pooh’s Little Instruction Book, inspired by A. A. Milne

(I finally found the “before” pictures of the house) …tomorrow’s post.

Be Well,
Jess

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

