A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 11


November 11, 2011

I am grateful to have enough, yet be able to give….I am so ever grateful for the soldiers who gave all ~ for our Freedom. God Bless.

Despite the pile of bills, this time of year I am grateful for God’s blessings. And when I feel bad that I am un-employed, I look at my family and see the hope. And when I worry how to pay for the holidays, I have faith, He will help me though it.
And when I hear others complain about the time and energy spent cooking and preparing for their Thanksgiving meal; and anticipating the time and money needed to shop for gifts. I think how grateful I am to have the means to buy food, and a family to cook, family to shop for – others are not so lucky.
Many, many families with children are not so lucky as to have this worry; they are simply worried about today; how will I feed the children today..some children have no-one to worry and care for them.

I have to stop and remind myself; that it isn’t about how much food we can ingest in one day, or how big the gifts are, how many cookies are baked, or how decorated the house gets… it is about the memories made with my family while we are together…while I do love to cook, and prepare, and decorate for the holidays…I will try harder to keep it in perspective. I may make a new seasonal mantra: “How do I want my family to remember the holidays?” If the activity, or feeling associated with it, is not how I want to remember the season, I will pass ~ we can do without the stress. I want my family to have warm, comfortable memories of holiday seasons full of tradition and family. I want the extraordinary memories made during the holiday season to also reflect compassion for others; giving and helping in a charitable, meaningful way.

In the spirit of gratefulness; I am stating my holiday season with Veterans Day…as JFK once said, “As we express our gratitude, we must never forget that the highest appreciation is not to utter words, but to live by them.”

I am grateful.

This Veteran's Day, we honor those who have so bravely served this country. America is founded on the principle of freedom, justice, and liberty for all. Our nation's soldiers serve every day to protect our country and its ideals. On Veteran's Day, take a sacred moment to remember the those who sacrifice their lives every moment to achieve peace and democracy.

a memorial in Boston

as part of the Boston Holocaust Memorial, is a gathering of neatly placed cobbles...each one signifying a child''s lost life ~ when the Nazis murdered as many as one and a half million Jewish infants and children.

a must read...

in remembrance..

"The willingness of America's veterans to sacrifice for our country has earned them our lasting gratitude." - Jeff Miller

"Remember"

on the Freedom Trail...

Freedom is never free. ~Author Unknown

But the freedom that they fought for, and the country grand they wrought for, Is their monument to-day, and for aye. ~Thomas Dunn English It is easy to take liberty for granted, when you have never had it taken from you.

We often take for granted the very things that most deserve our gratitude.

Oh, say, can you see, by the dawn’s early light,
What so proudly we hailed at the twilight’s last gleaming?
Whose broad stripes and bright stars, thru the perilous fight,
O’er the ramparts we watched, were so gallantly streaming?
And the rockets’ red glare, the bombs bursting in air,
Gave proof through the night that our flag was still there.
O say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave
O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave?

speaks for itself...

How important it is for us to recognize and celebrate our heroes and she-roes! ~Maya Angelou

On Veteran's Day, let us pay our respects not just to the soldiers who died for our country, but also to the soldiers of the world who did their job unflinchingly.

As the President stated last Veteran’s Day, “To all of them — to our veterans, to the fallen and to their families — there is no tribute, no commemoration, no praise that can truly match the magnitude of your service and your sacrifice.”

Be Well,
Jess

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

