A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 9


“Mutual caring relationships require kindness and patience, tolerance, optimism, joy in the other’s achievements, confidence in oneself, and the ability to give without undue thought of gain.”
― Fred Rogers, The World According to Mister Rogers

November 9, 2011

Neighbors

I am grateful for my neighbors. I am grateful that I have time to spend with them; I am grateful I have the opportunity to watch their children grow. I am grateful for the time my youngest daughter spent at their home when she was younger, I am grateful for the times their children spend at ours.

The young boys are always eager to help with whatever chore needs to be done on the farm; whether it be feeding chicken and ducks, or graining llamas, to just raking leaves. They love to help and just be with us.
Just yesterday, little Andrew stopped by, he had something to tell me, his Dad said; I scooped him up in my arms and asked, “Andrew, what did you want to tell me?” Silence and squirming. I asked, ” Andrew, did you just miss me and want to come over to say hello?” He smiled a wry little smile and answered, “Yes.” I asked if he might want to help me fill the back of the pick up truck with wood my husband chopped and split, he agreed; I told him I would come over to get get him in a bit. Andrew is not quite 4, and not as big as a minute. An hour or so later, after I finished what I had begun; I walked over to Andrew’s house to see if he was ready…he ran to the door raring to go. “Get your work gloves”, I told him. (he picked up a pair of tiny knit gloves..too cute) As we walked together up to the top of the field, he said to me, in his very Andrew-ish way; “Jeck-asa (translated,Jessica), do you want to see my mutsos (muscles)?” Of course I did. “Yes, Andrew, have you been exercising?” He then flexed his tiny little arm; and I told him how awesome he was. He then informed me that he had “old” muscles, that could fight a monster. I just smiled. He went on to ask, are there monsters on the woods we were passing? ” No, I don’t think so Andrew” I assured him. ” Well, he told me, “If there are, you stay here, Jeck-asa..it might be dangerous;” precious, simply precious. He ended the conversation with this: “Jecka-sa, I love you.”
William and Ryan, Andrew’s older brothers are just as helpful and fun to be around. I wouldn’t be too far off if I were to call them family.

Andrew with KatDoll trying to get into the photo

William

Rebecca and William's first egg.

feeding chicks with Andrew

Malakai lovin' on Andrew

Daughter Jenni lovin' on Andy

Jenni holding Andrew

evening fun on the farm

walkin' Maeve


This was taken when they both were 2 years old.

thoughtful...

muggin' We were taking Jenn's Senior photos ( not to be left out)

“The connections we make in the course of a life–maybe that’s what heaven is.”

Be Well,
Jessica

2 thoughts on “A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 9

  1. Making connections, that is what life is all about isn’t it? Love your post and it is especially heart warming because I have many Andrews of my own. Love the inquisitiveness and helpfulness of the Andrews in my life. I have 3… one son and two son-in-laws. Great name…

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

