A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 6


Finding things to be grateful for…I thought this challenge would be a relatively easy one;however, I am finding it more difficult to than anticipated ~ not that I have a deficit of gratefulness or anything…just how can this be written on a daily basis without it appearing self centered and narrow. After all it is meant to be written in the spirit of thanksgiving and the good things in life. I’m grateful that there is so much beauty and joy to be had in living life.

November 6, 2011

A Healthy Life

I’m grateful for all the opportunities I’ve had so far in my life; and I have had the health to take advantage of them. (knock on wood) Health is something I could easily take for granted, when I am feeling healthy ,I tend to not give it much attention. Usually around the first of the year, with all the other New Year’s resolutions, I vow to increase my exercise, or cut back on this or that..But now, writing this…I needed to take a step back and look at the bigger picture, I am blessed to be healthy…yes, I have aches and pains, and bouts of insomnia…really, those things are really nothing compared to what some people face on a daily basis. I am lucky enough to be able to see, to hear..to walk, to type…breathe deeply the fresh air on our small farm as I go about my daily chores. I’ve never had a doctor tell me I’m not expected to live a full and healthy life. Or that my life would be limited by what activities I could enjoy and partake in… So when I get too focused on the small things I can’t do, I need to remind myself how fortunate I am that there are so many more things that I can do. I’m thankful for my health, and for the health of my family and friends. Those around me are generally healthy and when faced with small health issues, have been able to overcome them. I’ve heard a lot of people say that they took good health for granted until they no longer had it. So I choose to focus on the positives, and appreciate everything that I have and everything I am able to do right now. For all of my friends, both near and far, who are struggling with health issues…I pray for your strength,and recovery…comfort. Good health is a gift to be treasured. Good friends who help you maintain that health make the journey even sweeter. I am truly blessed.

Random summer photos… of the sky and life. Hope you enjoy them.

Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship.
Buddha

Be well,
Jess

2 thoughts on “A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 6

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

