A month of thanksgiving…day 2


Our task must be to free ourselves… by widening our circle of compassion to embrace all living creatures and the whole of nature and its beauty.

Albert Einstein

November 2, 2011

My Animals

This passed year on our farm was marked by loss… our sweet llama Maeve, and Seamus, a huge gorgeous Golden Retriever (he suffered from severe uncontrollable seizures) and passed at only 4 years old. I was grateful to have been able to share their time here.

I am so grateful to be able to have animals in my life; living with these animals has brought to me, resourcefulness, affection and forgiveness, and grace; you see, animals are reliable,loving to a fault, affectionate ~ you know when you come home there will be a wagging tale and “I missed you whimpers” greeting you at the door. They are grateful for everything done for them, throwing a ball for Lexi ~ just a a little while every day ~ she is ecstatic. Animals are loyal, I can always trust that Finnegan and Lexi will be watching over our family. I once had a Westie; talk about loyal devotion…about 8 years ago, I had a bout with the flu; I was sick in bed, not being able to even get up to get a drink of water for 4 days…Kobe laid in bed with me for the entire time, only left when he had to go out, and get some water. He did not even leave me to eat…( the down side of that..he didn’t want anyone else near me either…and would make a horrible noise when others would come near)…

Have you ever had a bad day, I mean, a really bad day…when you just want to be alone, gather your thoughts..and try to make sense of what has, or is transpiring? I have had many a day like that..the first thing I want to do when I get home is walk out to the pasture with the llamas, I bring their grain, take a seat,…and just let their grace, gentleness, and curiosity melt the tension from my shoulders…they munch silently, A few will wander over to me…bring their face to mine and I smile. Their voice soothes me; different from other sounds…a gentle, sweet hum; never shouting, it’s just a whisper really, yet it drowns everything else out.

I also love my animals for who they have brought into my life; llamas have changed my life for the better, it is more enriched through owning them. they have incorporated themselves into our family and they become a huge part of our lives. We have traveled to places they would otherwise not have gone, met folks we never would have met…some wonderful caring people; people whom now I am lucky enough to call a friend, Katrina, Todd, Paul,Teri, Charlotte, Donna, Roy, Don, and Sue…I could go on and on…and really mean it!

Our llama farm is a rewarding experience; where we can enjoy being at home, grooming llamas for shows, and enjoy traveling throughout the U.S. for shows and they are huge fun and great social gatherings. I love my animals not just for themselves, but also for who they have brought into my life.

Here are some snapshots of animals that I love…

Seamus

Seamus with Finn as a pup...he was always so gentle and patient with all the pups

Lexi as an adorable pup

Finn

Riley cat...

Juli's dog, Rinaldo (I call him Nali Dog) enjoying life

Si, enjoying the view

sharing the love

Patient always..Maeve

Maeve with Andy shortly after his birth

Striking a pose...KatDoll

Baby Andy

Mali...sweet boy

Our neighbor, Andrew helping feed the chickens and ducks

ducks and chickens...

I am grateful for the simple things in life…
Be well,
Jessica

4 thoughts on “A month of thanksgiving…day 2

  1. That was great, Jess – you speak for so many of us who share our lives with animals. I agree that our animals, llamas especially, bring us to places and people in our lives to experience joy and friendships we may have missed without them.
    Thank you for writing this. It’s a keeper!

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

