Blue birds and empty nests


Sorting through boxes of my children’s past and feeling rather moody…I am attempting to organize and pare down. The organizing is going ok; the paring down ~ not so much. How do you decide which kindergarten painting to keep, or 5th grade book report, or lace vest hand made by Juli (she was the best clothes designer when she was 5) I may need this some day; and her paintings (I may be rich someday). Jenni loved rocks; her jewelry box is chock full of them (gotta keep those). We actually mined for some of them in New Hampshire…she and I and a thunder storm. Stacks and stacks of Justin’s wild life drawings..couldn’t part with those, actually I should frame a few.
So you can see the problem. Maybe… I will just store it neater?! After a couple hours of this, and a few too many cups of tea…feeling a bit melancholy; I took the dogs out for a walk. We walked up around the llama pastures, down past the ducks and chickens… As we came round the side of the house, I thought I saw a blue bird..and then another. Surely I was mistaken. I went in to gather my Audubon Society book. Could they still be around? Turns out they can! I followed those poor birds around for 20 minutes trying to get a good picture; they flitted away and I don’t have a lens capable of capturing them at a great distance.
How quickly I put aside thoughts of my impending empty nest and was overjoyed that theirs was still full. (I found out that the last brood usually stays with the parents through out the winter months)

There is always a blessing somewhere..just gotta look!

Be Well and count your blessings.
Jess

11 thoughts on “Blue birds and empty nests

  1. We had a bunch of BB around a few days ago….just love them they are so beautiful! They did not stay just passing thur to warmer climates I guess!

    Like

  2. I really enjoyed this post; it made me giggle, because I remembered my own struggles with throwing out stuff that I really don’t need to save anymore… but ya, I’m pretty sure I still have all of it.
    Also, I really liked your photographs, especially the black and white one with the blue bike and the leaf and feather. They are very pretty.

    Like

  3. Oh absolutely , just store them neater.. i made big chests for each of my children and then when I left the country gave them the boxes full of goodies.. but I MISS having them all myself.. and i loved the shot of the bike leaning on the tree.. c

    Like

  4. Woah! I’m really digging the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective. A lot of times it’s hard to get that “perfect balance” between superb usability and visual appeal. I must say you have done a great job with this. Additionally, the blog loads extremely quick for me on Internet explorer. Exceptional Blog!

    Like

  5. Excellent post. I was checking constantly this blog and I’m impressed! Extremely helpful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information much. I was seeking this certain information for a long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

