Autumn barns…and leaves.


I don’t recall a more beautiful Columbus Day weekend; the weather has been incredible. Although the leaves are not “prime” color yet, they are still glorious against the azure blue of the Autumn sky.

As much as I yearn for the color of spring blooms, and the blush of my first rose; Fall colors are akin to a second spring (if you think about it…too much..perhaps). This year it seems as though all of the rain has washed away the grime of summer, and the winds swept the haze from the sky…and the fields and trees on Upstate New York stand in stark relief. A new painting around every bend in the road; as we drove home yesterday from my daughter’s near Schenectady…I was awestruck by the beauty that surrounds us in this area of the Country. I could travel the world;(if I had money) and I may find such pastoral beauty, but until then I will be glad to be where I am…on my little farm in Upstate, NY.

“The leaves fall, the wind blows, and the farm country slowly changes from the summer cottons into its winter wools.”
– Henry Beston, Northern Farm

“The hazy, cloudless skies of Indian Summer. Leaves scurrying down the street
before the wind. The cold shiver from an arctic blast. Indian Summer. The last
warmth of the sun. Chilly mornings and glorious warm afternoons. The Harvest
Moon. The Hunter’s Moon. The Rainy Season. Dry corn stalks clattering in the
wind. The touch of frost on grass and window pane. The smell of burning leaves.”
– Keith C. Heidorn

I hope that you enjoy all that this season has to offer. What’s your favorite Fall tradition? I tell you mine next blog.
Be Well,
Jessica

4 thoughts on “Autumn barns…and leaves.

  1. C,

    I often think and wish to travel…to see new beauty …different.

    This area is beautiful, have you been to the North East? A quick aside, the photo of crooked wood fence, is at Grandma Moses Homestead just down the road from me.

    Jess

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

