The Rainy Day


…….Be still, sad heart! and cease repining; Behind the clouds is the sun still shining; Thy fate is the common fate of all, Into each life some rain must fall, Some days must be dark and dreary. (Henry Wadsworth Longfellow)

Don’t you just love, to snuggle on the sofa with a good book, raindrops calming…dogs asleep at your feet, Riley the Cat perched on the back of sofa,(as near as he can get to my head without actually sitting on it)…I enjoy these days; they have been rare this summer, raindrops making every thing smell fresh and clean on the next sunny summer day…


I have learned to love the rhythm of the rain; I love the gentle rainy days, as the droplets trickle down the window pane…recalling childhood memories of coloring books and and board games…


It may be a little odd, but I sometimes look forward to these quiet rainy days; I leave the windows open just a bit so that I can hear the pitter patter of the drops…


I am fairly certain, Riley thinks of himself as beautiful movable home decor; he is usually perched in only the most noticeable locations…


…beautifying the settee


copping an attitude…or giving me a profile shot…


aahhh…to be a cat!


A little sunshine to brighten our day…


A rainy day is the perfect time for…dancing! (obviously, I was grasping there)


“I’m going to smile and make you think I’m happy, I’m going to laugh, so you don’t see me cry, I’m going to let you go in style, and even if it kills me- I’m going to smile” Maeve, has been very ill…I Love her so much, it hurts.


Here is my wish…

Be Well, and enjoy the day whatever it may bring! I think I’ll get up off the sofa, and go bake something scrumptious!
Jessica

4 thoughts on “The Rainy Day

    • Lucy, Thanks!

      You know, when I first started blogging; I thought it would be all about my family , animals and the crafts that I try to find time to work on…it has really just become an extension of my thoughts(if that makes sense), or what ever is happening in my life at that time. I find the creative process exciting!

      I enjoyed the photos of your grandchildren on your blog!!

      Be well,
      Jessica

      Like

  1. Jessica,
    As always, your blog is wonderful, love the rainy days too. Riley is such a beauty. So sorry about Maeve, it made me cry to read about her, but, I understand….if you need anything, we’re here.
    Hugz,
    Kat

    Like

  2. Pingback: Three Things I Love | T.S. Welti, YA Author

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

