>Berry season…and our Beautiful Land.


>

One my favorite times of the year…it starts with strawberries,then raspberries, blackberries, mulberries…and wraps up with blueberries. Oh, I bet almost every child that grew up in rural America has memories of summer berry picking; sweet, sun warmed berries straight from the prickly vines…all of those pokes and scratches weren’t enough to deter little fingers from plucking the sweet juicy fruit….


We always took our children to Berry Farms that charge “by the pound” , I often joked they should pre-weigh my  now grown son, Justin on his way in…he popped more in his mouth than in his bucket, and always had the blue smile to prove it.


Having planted several raspberry bushes a few years ago…I can indulge in this simple , cherished  endeavor right in my own back yard…I will continue to frequent blueberry farms for those sweet berries.


Hmmmm…I should  bake a scrumptious batch of  berry muffins to carry us through our early morning trek to Boston’s Independence Day festivities.


A Red Sox game for some of the family, a history walk for me, a delicious meal ; then settling in for the Boston Pops, Martina McBride topped of with a Spectacular Fireworks display! ( I am a little excited) 

something so small makes life so sweet…

Better than any argument to rise at dawn and pick dew wet red berries in a cup.

wild roses, growing near the berries…

Beautiful Country!

A Country Farm near our home….

Sweet face….couldn’t resist.

my favorite muffin recipe….give it a try

Ingredients

  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine, softened
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups fresh or frozen blueberries(or any kind of berry)
  • struesel:
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/3 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine

In a mixing bowl, cream sugar and butter. Add egg; mix well. Combine flour, baking powder and salt; add to the creamed mixture alternately with milk. Stir in vanilla. Fold in blueberries. Fill 12 greased or paper-lined muffin cups two-thirds full. In a small bowl, combine sugar, flour and cinnamon; cut in butter until crumbly. Sprinkle over muffins. Bake at 375 degrees F for 25-30 minutes or until browned.





Be Well, Be Safe and Enjoy the Holiday weekend!


Leave a message, I would love to know who visits! 

6 thoughts on “>Berry season…and our Beautiful Land.

  1. And here it is! I am salivating over the blackberries. We have a very “seedy” wild variety called dewberries. We love them anyway. Even will get eaten alive by chiggers just to pick ’em. Just put on rubber boots to the knees, slather ourselves in sulfur, and pick buckets full.

    Like

    • Yay! I am afraid I have mucked up your comment page, you might want to send the clean up crew.

      My children love blackberries, and would brave the thorns to gather enough for muffins and pie. We used to have so many, we couldn’t eat them all…that was before Lilia, a lil ole llama decided she had an insatiable taste for them; she ate the bushes (shrubs) and all!

      Now, tell me about this “slather in sulfur” stuff?

      Jess

      Like

      • Chiggers are body mites and have the absolute worst itch imaginable. They are “repelled” by sulfur, but I hear you can use deep woods OFF (not my favorite — that stuff melts plastic!). The trick is not to let them “run all over” your body, so tight sleeves, pants tucked into jeans, etc., and then strip outside so as not to bring the little buggers into your house. Did I say I hate chiggers?

        Like

      • ah, I see, nasty lil things! Similar I suppose to our black flies, they’ll fly up your nose in your eyes…nasty, nasty, and relentless…I know what you mean about “off” (speaking of nasty stuff)
        Apparently, I like the word nasty tonight.

        Thank you for cleaning up after me. Nice to ~meet~ you Shannon.

        Like

      • Nasty is a good word. I’ve probably used it several times today — certainly with at least one of my three loads of dirty laundry today. Nice to meet you too.

        Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

