>Bygone Days…and Flea Markets


>

It was all about being drenched in nostalgia; looking forward through the window of the past…to become inspired, perhaps a little dreamy about what could be from what has been.

 Finding an old piece of cloth and doing something creative with it.

Maybe it’s just a moment to reflect on by gone days; your Grandmother’s quilt or afghan…knitted or crocheted while she sat by the radio listening to Amos and Andy or the Eddie Arnold Show; or on the front porch as the frogs peeped and fireflies flickered in the summer sky…

A beautiful old bureau or linen press; was this a beloved item of a new bride just setting up her home?

 Don’t you wish flea market items came with more than just a price tag; a chronicle or memoir would be nicer. 

I was mesmerized by the intricate stitches on these bed linens and tablecloths…

this would make a sweet pillow for my porch rocker…

History with its flickering lamp stumbles along the trail of the past, trying to reconstruct its scenes, to revive its echoes, and kindle with pale gleams the passion of former days.  ~Winston Churchill

ohh, just my size…

keeping sentry for the gardens…?

Gardens are so much more than a pretty space…

 No generation has a lock on what is beautiful or innovative

so, I believe the best understanding, the best design, the most satisfying garden places, have something of both past and present, now and then….love these dainty Swedish sap buckets.
Now that I have found the perfect spot for these treasures within my little farm house ~ I am off to bask in the afternoon sun ~ while I weed the gardens.

A garden fairy that I thought was perfect for my rock waterfall…

I forgot to mention; I found the most perfect egg basket …more  on  the chickens and ducks later….Oh the Joy!

Be Well!

P.S. ~ don’t forget to follow (in the right hand column at  the top of the page)

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

