The “Constant” Factor.


My constant companions…comfort and warmth at my feet.

Whenever I come within 100 feet of a puppy, I just can’t help myself. I gush, and smoosh, and snuggle like I’ve never seen such cuteness before. Puppy breathe, it smells like…well, it smells like hope!

One of my Pups (now 3); she looks older than her years..We had a dog named Seamus, who took care (literally) of Finnegan and Lexi when they were pups, he groomed them, let them snuggle into his big fluffy tail. Finnegan, when he was a tiny (use that term loosely when you speak of a 130 lb dog) pup, pulled almost every last hair out of Seamus’ beautiful tail; he preened and preened that tail as he fell asleep; Seamus never budged.

Seamus died at 5 years old from complications associated with Epilepsy. He had over 20 seizures in one weekend; his heart couldn’t take it. When He passed; Lexi’s muzzled turned gray within a week.

Seamus with Finnegan…

Seamus with Finn as a pup…he was always so gentle and patient with all the pups

Finnegan!

Finnegan.

Lexi might have the Monday blues…or she thinks I might want her pillow?

I have found that when you are deeply troubled, there are things you get from the silent, devoted companionship of a dog that you can get from no other source

Seamus!

This was our boy Seamus…dearly missed.

Lexi Lou..

He is your friend, your partner, your defender, your dog. You are his life, his love, his leader. He will be yours, faithful and true, to the last beat of his heart. You owe it to him to be worthy of such devotion.

Be well,
Jess

11 comments on “The “Constant” Factor.

  1. Your dogs and your words are beautiful, i have clicked unfollow and follow in the hope that i do get notifications when i post, I hope you are ok honey, your post sounded contemplative.. c

    Like

  2. I’m teary on this end, Jess. Sweet Seamus, may his soul be free of such discomfort and eagerly awaiting his master’s arrival. (I most certainly DO believe our animals will accompany us in heaven.) I’ve been a little distracted lately, just dealing with all of “this,” but I am reminded this morning how much I love my Bella.

    Thanks for sharing. I love them all!

    ~ Cara

    Like

  3. Pingback: An Effort Well Worth It « This Little Light

  4. A beautiful tribute to Seamus, and all the dogs we’ve loved and lost. You’ve said it so well, and the photos and your dogs are lovely. I’m sad for you loss but not for your love… it’s a multi-layered gift.

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

