A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 16 ( a re-post)


Last year I was able to write what I was grateful for and why, every day of November, I thought I would re-post this one.
November 16, 2011

Spring and summer flowers and my camera

I am always so grateful, excited, and completely awestruck by the beauty of flowers; So, when they are in full bloom, I take endless photos. Flowers always help me feel happy, relaxed, and refreshed. Through poetry, music and stories, people have been writing about the magnificence and meaning of flowers for centuries. Flowers and prose, how could it get any better?

“In the dooryard fronting an old farm-house near the white-wash’d palings,
Stands the lilac-bush tall-growing with heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
with many a pointed blossom rising delicate, with the perfume strong I love,
With every leaf a miracle – and from this bush in the dooryard,
With delicate-color’d blossoms and heart-shaped leaves of rich green,
A sprig with its flower I break.”
- Walt Whitman, Leaves of Grass, 1865

“To pick a flower is so much more satisfying than just observing it, or photographing it … So in later years, I have grown in my garden as many flowers as possible for children to pick.”
- Anne Scott-James

“He who is born with a silver spoon in his mouth is generally considered a fortunate person, but his good fortune is small compared to that of the happy mortal who enters this world with a passion for flowers in his soul.”
- Celia Thaxter

Be Well,
Jess

5 comments on “A month of thanksgiving ~ Day 16 ( a re-post)

  1. Pingback: Homepage

  2. I don’t have nearly enough flowers (that don’t also fruit) in my garden. You inspire me to do more about that! I just posted about a surprise flower that popped up after the death of a family member. Flowers brighten my days. Loved the poetry with all your pretty flowers — the gallery was a perfect way to view them all!

    Happy Thanksgiving, Jess! We are so very blessed, aren’t we?

    Like

I would love to know your thoughts; leave a note to share !

